BOM…

I found out this week that there will be no patchwork teaching for me this term due to low numbers.  I am happy and sad in equal measure – I love those diverse quilts that emerge from the classroom, but I am secretly elated to have a whole day to do my own thing.  Well, more actually if you count all the paperwork!  So in this unexpected free time, I plan to follow a Block of the Month.

2015-01-21 19.04.28

Has anyone ever done one of these before?  This will be my first. The idea is to download the free pattern each month and make 12 different 4″ blocks over the course of a whole year.  If you are in the vicinity of Dorking, Surrey (UK) on the first Monday of the month, The Quilt Room will also give you free fabric!  I’ve missed January’s but I plan to be in the queue for February!!

If you would like to join me, you can do so here…

http://www.quiltroom.co.uk/acatalog/FREE-miniature-BOM.html

2015-01-21 16.44.15

These are miniature blocks, and follow the Foundation Paper Piecing technique, much like the old Grandmothers Garden quilts of yesteryear.  This is the modern equivalent, stitched with a machine, but I am intrigued to see how it all works.  The Quilt Room have provided full instructions here.

I will post my efforts here as they are made.  There is something rather lovely about the rhythm of following such a scheme.  No rush, no worry about setting the blocks, good things come to those that wait.

I’d love you to join me so we can compare.

Love to hear from you

